Monday, December 21, 2015

Scholastic Art Award Participants

A group of students completed works of art and submitted them to the Scholastic Art Competition.  These works of art are being adjudicated digitally by judges who consider entries from students across Pennsylvania and New York.  From around 600 pieces, they accept around 120 for recognition. The pieces that are chosen will be in an exhibit at the Arnot Art Museum in Elmira, NY. The competition is tough, but these students deserve recognition for representing our school.  If you see these artists, wish them luck!

Students who submitted artwork for this competition include: Sydney Liechty, Lauren Galasso, McKay7lah DeKay, Breanna Forrest, Adam; Hunsinger, Erica Hutchison, Tiegan Stetz, Abigail Cuno, Rachel Hutchison, Hay7leigh Macik, Donna Cardona, Ariana Gambrell, Raegen Millar, and Amanda Sampson.

Below is some information about the Scholastic Art Award program.

Since 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have recognized the vision, ingenuity, and talent of our nation’s youth, and provided opportunities for creative teens to be celebrated. Each year, increasing numbers of teens participate in the program, and become a part of our community—young artists and writers, filmmakers and photographers, poets and sculptors, video game artists and science fiction writers, along with countless educators who support and encourage the creative process.

Young artists in grades 7 through 12, from public, private, or home schools, can apply in 14 categories of art, ranging from drawing and painting to fashion and jewelry, for their chance to earn scholarships and have their works exhibited at the Museum. Submissions are juried by notable professionals in the community involved in the visual and literary arts, some of whom are past award recipients. Panelists look for works that best exemplify originality, technical skill and the emergence of a personal voice or vision

Many well-known artists and creative people received their first recognition in the Scholastic program, including Andy Warhol, film-maker Ken Burns, Robert Redford, Alan Arkin, Lena Dunham, Stephen King and John Lithgow.  Who knows what the future holds for these creative students from Athens?

No comments:

Post a Comment